Race (2016): Run, Jesse, run!

What is it about?

Being a poor college student with a girlfriend and a child is not easy. Being a black, poor college student with a girlfriend and a child in Ohio in 1930’s was a true test of faith, will, defiance or whatever gets you going.

Luckily for Jesse (Stephan James) , he was a gifted athlete and recognized for it by his coach Larry Snyder (Jason Sudeikis). Together, they will conquer the Olympics and show everyone how running is done.

 

Who should watch it?

  • Should I watch it with my kid(s)?

    It’s okay to watch it with kids if they find it interesting enough to watch the entire 2 hours of “Race”, which I doubt.

  • Is it good to watch on a date?

    No.

  • For what audience is it intended?

    For anyone who likes a good sports drama based on true events.

What can I expect from this movie?

  • Will I fall off the couch laughing and have sore abs the next day due to laughing too hard?

    No. I expected it from Jason Sudeikis, but his character simply didn’t allow it.

  • Is my brain going to implode trying to figure out the movie?

    No.

  • Will I learn anything from this movie?

    Yes. Being black in certain parts of America in the 1930’s was just a little better than being a Jew in Germany in the same period.

  • Is it based on something?

    It’s based on a true story of how Jesse Owens single-handedly destroyed Hitler’s vision of Arian supremacy in during the Olympics in Berlin in 1936.

Similar movies like “Jesse”?

“42” and  “Remember the Titans”.

Judgment time!

It’s not the best sports drama I’ve ever seen, but with a budget of only $5M, you can’t expect miracles. I think it appropriately depicted Jesse Owen’s life and the anti-black atmosphere of the 1930’s.

Stephan James did a swell job of portraying Jesse Owens and managed not to go over the top. Seeing Jason Sudeikis in a serious role was a weird experience, but he did alright. Jeremy Irons was great as usual in a small, but vital part.

The one actor who really shined for me, though, was Barnaby Metschurat, who played Joseph Goebbels. I think he was a terrific choice to play Goebbels and did an amazing job. The first second I saw him in the movie, without even knowing who he was, I immediately thought to myself: “This guy is pure evil!” And then when he was introduced as Joseph Goebbels, I thought: “Oh yeah, that makes sense.”

All in all, it’s a very nice sports drama and I give it 7/10.

 

Leave a Reply

