Blood Father (2016): Mel Gibson at his finest!

What is it about?

A 17-year old Lydia (Erin Moriarty, who is actually 22, but oh well) gets in a whole lot of trouble when she accidentally shoots her 30-year old gangster-wanna-be boyfriend and now his friends are looking for her and want to kill her. How the hell does a 17-year old girl end up with 30-year old criminals is beyond me. Americans…Am I right?

The only one who can save her is her father, Link (Mel Gibson), who is a total mess. An ex-con, two years sober, living in a trailer park… You get the picture. They haven’t talked in years, but now they kind of have to, because Lydia is dangerously close to getting a bullet in her pretty face.

The only goal her father had, was to stay clean and out of trouble. Living one day at a time. That’s no longer an option because what follows is a chase full of shooting, dying, dirty old Nazi-lovers, and deadly cartel assassins (sicarios) who have an atrocious taste in tattoos.

Who should watch it?

  • Should I watch it with my kid(s)?

    No. It’s way too violent and riddled with foul language. Not that I’m complaining.

  • Is it good to watch on a date?

    Sure. It’s a fun, action-packed movie with a decent amount of humor.

  • For what audience is it intended?

    For anyone who likes Mel Gibson and movies where he is a total badass.

What can I expect from this movie?

  • Will I fall off the couch laughing and have sore abs the next day due to laughing too hard?

    Well, it’s not exactly a comedy, but it does have its moments. There’s a lot (as in, A LOT) of dialogue crammed into less than 90 minutes and some of it is quite amusing.

  • Is my brain going to implode trying to figure out the movie?

    No.

  • Will I learn anything from this movie?

    Yes. Mel Gibson is back!

  • Is it based on something?

    It’s based on a novel written by Peter Craig. As usual, the book goes much deeper and tells us about Link’s past, which must have been colorful, to put it mildly. It definitely goes on my to-read list.

  • Is this movie a must-see?

    It’s a great movie, but I wouldn’t call it a must-see.

Similar movies like “Blood Father”?

“Taken” trilogy.

Judgment time!

I came across this movie on the Internet some time ago but wasn’t really sure if I should watch it or not. Thanks to The Movie Guys who gave it a 4 out of 5, I decided to give it a chance. Those guys are pretty strict so I figured it must be one hell of a movie if they gave it a 4. And it is one hell of a movie!

I always loved Mel Gibson’s movies, ever since I’ve seen “Mad Max” 20 years ago when I was just a kid. Since then, he’s been in a lot of cool movies. That’s why I was sad when I heard about his antisemitic statements and was afraid that he went bananas and I’ll never see him in another movie again. Luckily, he managed to come back out of it and started doing some decent movies. “Gringo” was pretty awesome for me.

After seeing “Blood Father”, I definitely plan to see all of his future movies, regardless of the critics or IMDB score.

Since most of the movie takes place in a desert, “Blood Father” reminded me of “Mad Max”, especially during a chase scene where he rides a motorcycle and shoots from a shotgun at the same time. Instant flashbacks! He does an excellent job of portraying an old, weary renegade who still has a couple of tricks up his sleeves.

Erin Moriarty (Is that the coolest last name ever, or what?) is great too and is not completely annoying. Most of the time.

The only field in which this movie failed miserably was its marketing. I barely heard of it! Was it even possible to see it in a cinema? When? Why didn’t I see any trailers or anything else? It’s a shame because it’s a great movie! I hope that many more people will see it.

I give it 7/10.

 

 

Leave a Reply

