The Man Who Knew Infinity (2015): A brilliant mathematician​’s life and work

What is it about?

Srinivasa Ramanujan (Dev Patel) is a common Indian clerk with no real education. But somehow, he kicks ass in math. And by that, I don’t mean he’s good at adding and multiplying large numbers (which he is), I mean he contemplates about mathematical concepts and theorems that most of don’t even know how to pronounce properly, let alone say anything meaningful about it.

His biggest goal is that his brilliant findings get published. Since it’s practically impossible for an ordinary Indian clerk to publish anything, let alone groundbreaking math solutions, he knew that he had to connect with someone who has the required authority and influence. And who better to connect with, than G.H.Hardy (Jeremy Irons), who was one of the most respected mathematicians of his time.

G.H.Hardy recognized the potential in Ramanujan and invited him to work with him at Cambridge. Besides doing some truly revolutionary work, Ramanujan has to deal with Hardy’s inability to connect with another human being, the fact that he is an Indian in a sea of Brits, and being away from his wife who stayed in India. So yeah, he has a lot on his plate.

Who should watch it?

 

  • Should I watch it with my kid(s)?

    It’s a great movie, but I think it will be too boring for most kids. Although, if you happen to have a kid that’s a mathematical genius, he might be fascinated by this movie.

  • Is it good to watch on a date?

    Not really.

  • For what audience is it intended?

    For anyone who likes quality movies based on the lives of great minds.

What can I expect from this movie?

 

  • Will I fall off the couch laughing and have sore abs the next day due to laughing too hard?

    This is a drama and is not meant to be funny, although there are some clever jokes made by Bertrand Russell who was also at Cambridge at the time.

  • Is my brain going to implode trying to figure out the movie?

    Even though the movie is full of math problems that will hurt your brain, the actual plot is rather easy to follow.

  • Will I learn anything from this movie?

    Yes. Bertrand Russell was a pretty funny guy!

  • Is it based on something?

    It’s based on Ramanujan’s biography written by Robert Kanigel.

Similar movies like “The Man Who Knew Infinity”?

You can try with “A Beautiful Mind”.

Judgment time!

I am so glad that I watched “The Man Who Knew Infinity”. It’s a great movie that really sticks with you. I never heard of Srinivasa Ramanujan  before, which is why I love it even more. I am always happy to watch a great movie that teaches me something, as well as entertains me. Dev Patel was as awesome as usual, while Jeremy Irons did a wonderful job of portraying G.H.Hardy.

The only thing that bothered me is that we never really find out how the hell was a common clerk without a proper education able to do such an amazing mathematical discoveries and breakthroughs. It just doesn’t make sense, I wish it was explained more clearly in the movie.

It’s a shame that this movie bombed at the box office and that more people haven’t seen it. But that’s what happens all the time. It’s not the first great movie to flop, nor will it be the last one. I give it 8/10.

 

Leave a Reply

