Range 15 (2016): What the fuck did I just see?

What is it about?

A group of badass soldiers wakes up in jail after a hard night of partying. Awesome, right? Soon they discover that the zombie apocalypse has started, claiming William Shatner as one of the first victims. I don’t know why is he credited first on IMDB when he dies in like first 5 minutes of the movie (Ups, spoiler. If only I could take back what I wrote). What’s up with that?

For some reason, our badass soldiers are not too shattered with Shatner’s demise, which one of the reasons why they’re badass, I guess. Now they have to fight their way across the country and kill hundreds of zombies, which is not as easy as you might think. For one of them, it’s especially hard since he has a blow-up doll glued to his dick and he has to walk around like that. Yep, it’s one of those movies.

Who should watch it?

  • Should I watch it with my kid(s)?

    I can’t even describe how big of a “NO” this is. This movie is filled with senseless violence, crude humor, and lots of swearing. I’m not saying it’s bad, it’s just not for kids.

  • Is it good to watch on a date?

    I doubt it. Only if both of you are fans of Mat Best. I have no idea who that is but he is playing himself in the movie and apparently, he’s a YouTube star.

  • For what age and gender is it intended?

    16 and up. Mostly for guys.

What can I expect from this movie?

  • Will I fall off the couch laughing and have sore abs the next day due to laughing too hard?

    It’s hard to say because I don’t really know you that well. Kidding aside, everything about this movie is ridiculous and over the top. I mean, everything: the plot, the script, the jokes, the characters, everything. So if you plan to watch it, don’t expect an Oscar candidate or a movie that will change your life. Expect to laugh, if blow-up doll stuck on a dick is your thing, or expect to be revolted if it isn’t.

  • Is my brain going to implode trying to figure out the movie?

    Only if you are one of those zombies from the movie, in which case, I am rooting for your head to explode. Nothing personal, but we just can’t have zombies walking around.

  • Will I learn anything from this movie?

    Yes. Only person more badass than Danny Trejo is Danny Trejo turned into a zombie. Then he’s almost invincible!

  • Is it based on something?

    No.

Similar movies like “Range 15”?

For similar zombie comedies (but with a better budget, plots, characters and pretty much everything else), try with “Shaun of the Dead” (2004) or “Zombieland” (2009).

Judgment time!

The main characters are all war veterans and none of them are professional actors, which is something that should be considered when judging this movie.

But let’s be honest: This movie is trash. Even for a budget of $1M, it’s fucking trash. BUT, goddamn it, I laughed more than during some other, more quality comedies. As mentioned before, the humor is very crude and sometimes obnoxious, but other times, it’s funny as hell.

It’s one of the stupidest movies I have ever seen, but I’m still not sorry I saw it. It’s one of those movies that are so horrible, they’re actually good. I give it 6/10.

Leave a Reply

