The Blair Witch Project (1999): Not my cup of tea

What is it about?

Three film students go into the woods (like, really, really deep) to film a documentary about a local legend about a witch. Soon (of course) they get lost and start walking in all directions except the right one and weird shit starts to happen. But then, they find an abandoned house and even weirder shit takes place.

Who should watch it?

  • Should I watch it with my kid(s)?

No. It’s a horror movie! Even though there isn’t a single scene with anything close to violence, it’s still possible for your kids to be scared. Many grownups got scared while watching it.

  • Is it good to watch on a date?

For me, no. It’s boring.

  • Who should watch it?

Anyone who likes suspenseful horror movies and a shaky camera and also has a lot of patience.

 What can I expect from this movie?

  • Will I get scared?

I didn’t, but apparently, lots of people found it scary and unsettling.

  • Will I fall off the couch laughing and have sore abs the next day due to laughing too hard?

No.

  • Is my brain going to implode trying to figure out the movie?

Well…the plot is very easy to follow, but the ending is so ambiguous, I wanted to punch my TV. Everything is left to your personal, subjective interpretation.

  • Will I learn anything from this movie?

Yeah. Don’t be a filmmaker. You’ll die.

  • Is it based on something?

No.

It seems that a lot of people claim this is one of the best horror movies ever, but I disagree. So for me, it’s not a must-see movie.

Similar movies like “The Blair Witch Project”?

Try with The Visit or with Paranormal Activity.

Judgment time!

As I said, lots of people like this movie to a point they are willing to bring down governments who don’t share their opinion. I’m afraid I am not one of them. This movie did nothing for me. I didn’t get scared nor intrigued. In the first 60 minutes of the movie almost nothing happened.

The only impressive thing about this movie is its hilarious budget of only $60,000. Taking that into account, I give this movie 5/10.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

