The Brothers Grimsby (2016): It’s disgusting and hilarious!

What is it about?

Two brothers, Nobby and Sebastian, get separated at a very young age. Sebastian grows up to be a world-class spy and assassin, while Nobby grows up to be a world-class hooligan and baby maker. He might not be the brightest brick in the wall but his sperm sure can swim.

Nobby spent his entire life searching for his lost brother. And one day, he finally finds him. What follows is a scene after scene of disgusting but hilarious adventures of the Grimsby brothers.

Who should watch it?

  • Should I watch it with my kid(s)?

Absolutely not. There are so many scandalous and gross scenes, I don’t even know where to begin. Don’t get me wrong, I love it, but it’s not something your kids should watch. I mean, it’s Sacha Baron Cohen we’re talking about here. You should know by now that his movies are fucked up.

  • Is it good to watch on a date?

Absolutely. I watched it the movie with my girlfriend. But, it’s important that he/she shares your type of humor. As I said, this movie is fucked-up. If your boyfriend/girlfriend doesn’t like “Bruno” or “Borat”, it’s pretty safe to say that he/she won’t like “The Brothers Grimsby” either. But if that’s the case, you should dump him/her anyway. Let’s face it, your relationship is doomed.

  • For what age and gender is it intended?

For adults who like crazy, ridiculous comedies, but most of all, it’s for people who like Sacha Baron Cohen.

 What can I expect from this movie?

  • Will I fall off the couch laughing and have sore abs the next day due to laughing too hard?

My girlfriend and I were laughing the entire movie. I noticed that the rest of the people in the movie reacted very well, too. But, this movie is not for everyone and lots of people will find it obnoxious and revolting.

There is a scene where Nobby sucks his brother’s ball to suck out the poison and save his life. In another scene, they are both inside of a female elephant and have to wrestle (and jerk off) a giant penis of a male elephant who is fucking the female elephant.

You see where I am going with this.

  • Is my brain going to implode trying to figure out the movie?

I would be seriously worried about your mental state if you are not able to understand this movie’s plot. As fun as “The Brothers Grimsby” is, its plot is so thin, that it dances on the edge of its very existence. So no, your brain is not going to implode.

  • Will I learn anything from this movie?

Yes. Never, ever, enter a female elephant. Ever. Nothing good can come out of it.

  • Is it based on something?

Not that I know of.

It’s a very funny movie, but hardly a classic. You should definitely see it if your like Cohen’s movies.

Similar movies like “The Brothers Grimsby”?

Other movies from Sacha Baron Cohen, “Johnny English”, “Ace Ventura”, “Dumb & Dumber”, “Dumb & Dumber 2″…

Judgment time!

“The Brother’s Grimsby” didn’t do well at the box office and it received a fair amount of negative reviews. And yet, here I am, recommending it to you. Why? Because it’s a hilarious comedy. Humor is as subjective as possible so there is no point in explaining to anyone why is it funny. You either find it funny or you don’t. But here is what I resent people who don’t like it:

Why the hell would you go see a Cohen’s movie if you didn’t like his previous movies? Wasn’t the trailer enough to make you realize that this a ridiculous comedy that doesn’t care about the story or character development? It only cares about being absurd and over the top. And it fucking succeeds!

Nothing is sacred and nothing is off limit. You can see so many scenes and dialogues that don’t appear in any other movie. Cohen moves the limits of comedy and always tries to do something that has never been done before. All of his movies are like that. That’s why I like it so much and I give it 8/10.

 

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

