The Do-Over (2015): A do-over is very much needed

What is it about?

Two losers that used to be best friends in high school reunite at a 10-year reunion (That’s what reunions are for, right?) and decide to change their lives because they are both, well, losers.

They decided that the best way to do that is to fake their own death and start fresh. You can’t really blame them. Their lives truly sucked. Surprise, surprise, their new identities get them in a whole lot of trouble.

 

Who should watch it?

  • Should I watch it with my kid(s)?

You really shouldn’t. There are curses, dead people, nude tits… I mean, all those are a plus in my book, but it’s not really suited for kids.

  • Is it good to watch on a date?

Only if you both love James Spade and/or Adam Sandler. You will either laugh because you like them, or you will be thoroughly disappointed at what has become of James Spade and Adam Sandler, and look for comfort. Both scenarios could lead to steamy sex.

  • For what age and gender is it intended?

Anyone who is older than 16 and has really low standards when it comes to comedy.

 What can I expect from this movie?

  • Will I fall off the couch laughing and have sore abs the next day due to laughing too hard?

I’m afraid not. While there are a couple of scenes that might make you chuckle, the majority of the movie is just so damn bad.

  • Is my brain going to implode trying to figure out the movie?

No. Unless English is your first language but you are still struggling to read this sentence.

  • Will I learn anything from this movie?

Yeah. Adam Sandler and James Spade combined can’t make you laugh. It’s a sad day for all of us.

  • Is it based on something?

Not that I know of.

Absolutely not. Save yourself. It’s too late for me. Just go!

Similar movies like “The Do-Over”?

For similar (but better) movies I recommend you The Brothers Grimsby, “Ride Along” and “Ride Along 2”

Judgment time!

As a big fan of some of the earlier movies with Adam Sandler (“50 First Dates”, “I Now Pronounce You Chuck and Larry”, “The Wedding Singer”) it brings me no joy to say that this movie is utter crap.

Unfortunately, Sandler continues to pick movies with ridiculous plots and with even worse execution. There are some good and semi-funny lines but that’s just not enough. Spade’s meek performance didn’t help either. I give it a 4/10

Leave a Reply

