The Visit (2015): Nana be scary!

What is it about?

A shaky camera type of movie in which two kids visit their grandparents for the first time in their life. It turns out that “nana” and “pop-pop” are a little corky. No, scratch that. They are bat-shit crazy. Grandpa is not so bad at the beginning, but grandma has some serious issues. And a pretty decent body. Kudos to Deanna Dunagan. I am definitely not a granny chaser (I’m not!), but when someone’s body is hot, kudos are in order. Oh yeah, her acting is very good as well. She scared the crap out of me more than once.

Who should watch it?

  • Should I watch it with my kid(s)?

It’s a movie where grandparents act strange and scare the shit out of their grandkids? Why the hell would you want to show it to your kids? They will never want to go to your grandparents again! And then you will have no one to take care of them while you are on a romantic trip with your spouse, trying to repair your disaster of a marriage. You didn’t think about that, did you?

  • Is it good to watch on a date?

I guess… I mean, if you and your date are both into horror movies, then it’s okay. But it is definitely not going to get you laid. Unless… your plan is to get your date so scared that he/she begs you for sex to wash away the trauma caused by the movie. Oh, you’re good…

  • For what age and gender is it intended?

It’s pretty much for everyone older than 16.

What can I expect from this movie?

  • Will I fall off the couch laughing and have sore abs the next day due to laughing too hard?

Highly unlikely, but don’t underestimate your inner psychopath.

  • Will I get scared?

Well, it scared me a couple of times, mostly due to the fact that Deanna Dunagan is one scary lady.

  • Is my brain going to implode trying to figure out the movie?

Unless your brain already imploded (or exploded, either way is okay), you will have no troubles understanding this movie after watching it only once.

  • Will I learn anything from this movie?

Yeah. Never trust old people.

  • Is this movie a must-see?

No, it’s not. It’s an okay movie, but definitely not something you MUST see before you die.

Similar movies like “The Visit”?

  1. The Blair Witch Project
  2. Paranormal Activity
  3. The Babadook
  4. Rosemary’s Baby
  5. The Shining
  6. Orphan

Judgment time!

I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of this movie. It’s not the best horror movie of all times, but god damn it, it’s not that bad either! With its modest budget of only $5,000,000, this movie achieved more than some other, much more expensive horrors.

You will especially like it if you are M.Night Shyamalan’s fan. My score for this decent horror movie is 7/10.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 comments

Leave a comment